Downtown Coaches Club
Home / Contact us / MSU Football page

Spartan Spirit Award
Other awards

The Spartan Spirit Award has been presented annually by the Club since 1992 to a member/members in good standing of the Downtown Coaches Club who through their actions and in the opinion of the Board has/have best displayed true Spartan spirit to promote athletic teams of Michigan State University.

The 2016 Spartan Spirit Award recipients are Don and Lynn Barbera.

Don & Lynn have represented "Spartan Nation" for over 56 years. Don graduated from MSU in 1964; Lynn graduated in 1966. They met at MSU. The Barberas have been dedicated Spartan fans. Don spent 38 years working for Consumers Energy in the Information & Technology Department in Jackson; Lynn worked 32 years as a teacher in the Northwest School System in Jackson. The couple now lives in Holt. They never miss a home football game, and are avid fans of other MSU sports. They attend home and away games, bowl games, and Final Four basketball games. They have been season ticket holders for MSU football, basketball (men's & women's), ice hockey, baseball and women's volleyball. Their support for the Green & White also includes attendance at post-season banquets. They are members and great supporters of the Downtown Coaches Club, Rebounders Club, Bluel Line Club, and Fast Break Club. They are Spartan Fund donors, and MSU Alumni Association members.

Congratulations, Don and Lynn!

Recipients of Spartan Spirit Award

2016 Don & Lynn Barbera, 2015 Janet & Tom Milan, 2014 Duane Vernon, 2013 Marge Hart, 2012 Duane Bartrem, 2011 Jack Nelson, 2010 Alda Henderson and Mildred Richardson, 2009 Dominic Carbone, 2008 Eldon VanSpybrook, 2007 Pat McPharlin, 2006 Constantine "Con" Demos, 2005 Lanita Brown, 2004 Roxy Eaton, 2003 Thomas Searl, 2002 Jim Thompson, 2001 Fran Angell and John West, 2000 Mike Mannings, 1999 Ken Sudall, 1998 Gaylord Krebs, 1997 Cameron and Peg Dean, 1996 Gil Haley, 1995 Gene Scott, 1994 Ken Patenge, 1993 Jim Adams, 1992 Michael "Doc" Bigelow