Downtown Coaches Club
Home / Contact us / MSU Football page

Big Ten Conference Football Divisions
MSU Schedule

Beginning with the 2014 season, the Big Ten Conference (B1G) has two football divisions:



The winners of the two divisions play each other in the Big Ten Championship Game. The winner is the Big Ten Champion and a probable, though not guaranteed, participant in the Rose Bowl Game played in Pasadena, CA. The Rose Bowl Game is always played on January 1 unless it falls on a Sunday--- then the game is played on January 2.

Beginning in January 2015, the Rose Bowl became part of the College Football Playoff (CFP) system. As a result, it now hosts one of the CFP's semifinal games every three years (in 2015, 2018, 2021, etc) which may or may not involve a Pacific-12 or Big Ten team. During non-CFP years (2016, 2017, 2019, 2020, 2022, 2023, etc), the Rose Bowl reverts to its traditional Pacific-12/Big Ten matchup.